August 26, 2019

New Super Rugby competition format unveiled

The logo is cool the competition looks like an endurance test for the fans

The Super Rugby competition between franchises from Australia, South Africa and Australia will include 31 more games next season.

No longer referred to as the Super 15, Super Rugby changes include more games, a new finals format and home and away games for teams within the same country.

The competition is split into three conferences, New Zealand, South Africa and Australia, and teams will play each side in their own conference twice, as well as playing six of the eight teams from the other two conferences. I know you are getting confused but try and stick with it.

Six teams will now make up the finals, the top teams from each conference as well as the next three best teams.

It’s still possible for four teams from one country to reach the semifinals under the new format, if the three wildcard spots went to franchises from the same conference.

The season will also run much longer than the Super 14, finishing in July next year, the same for every other World Cup year, and in August every non World Cup year.

The number of matches played on New Zealand soil will also increase next year, with up to seven more games to be played under the new format.

For the competition organisers this is all about filling up television schedules for their pay-tv sponsors. They have never grasped the basic fundimental rule of economics that over supply of a product leads to it’s devaluation.

This thing is getting so long that it will become ‘S’ for snore not ‘S’ for super. With administrators as thick as this lot I guess we should just be grateful they are not running a country.

The Super Rugby season will begin with the Hurricanes playing the Highlanders on Friday February 18, followed by the Melbourne Rebels playing their first ever game against the Waratahs.

The Blues open their campaign against the Crusaders on Saturday February 19, while the Chiefs play away to the Brumbies.

Super Rugby Snapshot
– An increase in overall matches from 94 to 125 (an increase of 33%)
– A 50% increase in the length of the season in non-World Cup years – from 16 weeks to 24 weeks
– A 31% increase in the length of the season in World Cup years – from 16 weeks to 21 weeks 40 Super Rugby regular season matches played in each country each season as opposed to 26 in Australia under the Super 14 structure and 32 or 33 in South Africa and New Zealand
– There will be 20 regular season local derbies in each country as opposed to six in Australia, 10 in South Africa and10 in New Zealand under the Super 14 format
– Half of all regular season matches will be local derbies
– Each team will play 12 of its 16 regular-season games within its own country – with only four matches overseas