June 27, 2019

Conservatives win majority, Ignatieff resigns

and now thanks to you the voters, for the first time I know what a majority feels like.

Canadian Prime Minister, Stephen Harper’s Conservative Party has won 167 seats to win a majority in Canada’s general election on Monday.

At the other end of the scale, Liberal leader Michael Ignatieff is resigning after he lost his party was dealt its worst election defeat in its history.

The Liberals won only 34 seats after having 77 seats going into the election. It is the first time in Canadian history the Liberal Party has not finished either first or second.

Still Ignatieff’s Liberals are looking pretty good compared to the Bloc Quebecois who retained only 4 seats after previously holding 47.

Bloc Quebecois leader Giles Duceppe and Michael Ignatieff have the dubious honour of both having lost their electorate seats.

Green Party leader Elizabeth May won her seat in British Columbia, becoming the first Green to be elected to the House of Commons.

Despite not winning a majority, the sucess story of the election has been the New Democratic Party, who take over as the opposition, with 102 seats.

says he is resigning as the leader of Canada’s Liberal Party, after a crushing defeat in the country’s general election.