September 23, 2019

Rugby League: New South Wales team for Origin 1 announced

Canberra born Jamie Soward has plenty to smile about as he is named to make his origin debut.

Canberra Raiders star Josh Dugan has won the NSW fullback spot, ousting Jarryd Hayne for the opening State of Origin rugby league match at Suncorp Stadium on May 25.

Hayne failed to make coach Ricky Stuart’s team at all, with Brett Morris and Akuila Uate preferred on the wings when it was announced on Sunday.

Penrith centre Michael Jennings was a surprise inclusion at centre, with Australian debutant Jamal Idris a shock omission from the Blues squad.

Dragons five-eighth Jamie Soward will make his Origin debut and will partner Mitchell Pearce in the halves.

Manly co-captain Jason King won a surprise berth in the starting line-up alongside Kade Snowden in the front row.

St George Illawarra youngster Trent Merrin and Parramatta front rower Tim Mannah were picked as back up props on the bench.

The Dragons had seven players picked in the squad in total, with veteran Dean Young to make his debut, Beau Scott to start in the second row and Mark Gasnier and Ben Creagh also included.

NSW Origin team: Josh Dugan, Brett Morris, Michael Jennings, Mark Gasnier, Akuila Uate, Jamie Soward, Mitchell Pearce, Jason King, Michael Ennis, Kade Snowden, Beau Scott, Greg Bird, Paul Gallen (c). Interchange: Ben Creagh, Trent Merrin, Tim Mannah, Dean Young.